Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine is the oldest and largest faculty in the University. Today it is comprised of 45 chairs, teaching hospitals, and research laboratories.

The Faculty of Medicine provides undergraduate education in General Medicine. Graduates receive the degree of Medical Doctor. It is granted to medical students after the completion of their degree program, which lasts 6 years for full-time studies or 7 years in case of part-time studies. About 600 students graduate each year.


The Faculty of Medicine also provides postgraduate training. Depending on the branch of medicine, this can be a 1-year internship, 2-3-year residency or a combination of both.

Some departments also offer PhD fellowships, with the PhD program lasting 3-4 years, as well as other doctoral programs.

Departments are headed by professors, academicians and corresponding members of Russian Academies of Sciences, Medical Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Education. Most faculty members have PhD or Doctor of Medicine research degrees.

The Faculty of Medicine provides training in patient care at the FMSMU teaching hospitals, affiliated hospitals, maternity hospitals, veterans hospitals and 14 out-patient clinics in Moscow.


  1. Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology No.1
  2. Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology No.2
  3. Department of Human Anatomy
  4. Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
  5. Department of Biological Chemistry
  6. Department of Otorhinolaryngology (ENT)
  7. Department of Histology, Cytology and Embryology
  8. Department of Ophthalmology
  9. Department of Internal Medicine No.1
  10. Department of Internal Medicine No.2
  11. Department of Surgery No.1
  12. Department of Surgery No.2
  13. Department of Pediatrics
  14. Department of Foreign Languages
  15. Department of Clinical Pharmacology and Introduction to Internal Medicine
  16. Department of Dermatology and Venerology
  17. Department of the Latin Language and Medical Terminology
  18. Department of Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
  19. Department of Radiology and Radiotherapy
  20. Department of Medical Genetics
  21. Department of Neurology
  22. Department of Physiology
  23. Department of General Biology, General Genetics and Parasitology
  24. Department of General Surgery
  25. Department of Oncology
  26. Department of Operative Surgery and Surgical Anatomy
  27. Department of Pathological Anatomy
  28. Department of Pathophysiology
  29. Department of Primary Care
  30. Department of Introduction to Internal Medicine
  31. Department of Psychiatry and Medical Psychology
  32. Department of Forensic Medicine
  33. Department of Trauma, Orthopedics and Disaster Surgery
  34. Department of Transplantation and Artificial Organs
  35. Department of Urology
  36. Department of Internal Medicine No.3
  37. Department of Internal Medicine No.4
  38. Department of Surgery No.3
  39. Department of Surgery No.4
  40. Department of Pharmacology
  41. Department of Physical Training
  42. Department of Philosophy and Political Science
  43. Department of Phthisiopulmonology
  44. Department of Endocrinology
  45. Department of Civil Defense and Management of Disaster Medical Care

Amission office of First Moscow State Medical University

Phone: +7 (910) 737-2741

Email: admission@fmsmu.ru

Admission 2019-2020 is open now